What kind of fireworks can you legally use in your city?

Jun 29, 2023, 6:38 AM | Updated: 1:17 pm


Growing up it was one of my favorite holidays! My dad and our neighbors would light off these amazing fireworks and we would sit running around with Sparklers dreaming of the day we got to light the big ones.  Well that is not a thing anymore … at least not legally!


Here are some basics by city or county:

Any type of fireworks that leaves the ground is illegal in Colorado.


Arapahoe County – There is no fire ban in place for unincorporated areas of Arapahoe County, Centennial, Foxfield, and Deer Trail in 2023.


Arvada – In the City of Arvada, the possession and use of any fireworks including sparklers is illegal.


Aurora – The sale, possession and use of certain fireworks is legal in Aurora. Examples of allowed fireworks are fountains, wheels, sparklers, snakes and ground spinners. Examples of prohibited fireworks are firecrackers, bottle rockets, lady fingers, mortars and Roman candles.


Boulder County – If fire restrictions are in place or if a Red Flag Day is in effect, no fireworks of any kind are allowed.


Broomfield – In the City and County of Broomfield, certain fireworks are permissible. This includes sparklers, trick noisemakers, toy caps and toy smoke devices.


Castle Rock – Fireworks that leave the ground, explode, or break off into pieces are not allowed. Only fireworks purchased at stands in Castle Rock are legal, and only on July 4.


Centennial – Centennial residents may use and possess certain “permissible fireworks,” limited only to those that do not explode, leave the ground or fly through the air.

Sparklers, cones, snakes and fountains are allowed. The use and possession of all forms of fireworks are prohibited in parks and open spaces.


Denver – All fireworks are illegal. If you have to light or ignite, it’s illegal in Denver. Penalties for violations are up to $999 in fines and/or court costs, up to 1 year in jail.


Douglas County – No fire restrictions in place in 2023. Fireworks that don’t leave the ground are permissible.


Jefferson County – Cylindrical or cone fountains, wheels and ground spinners, illuminating torches and colored fire, dipped sticks and sparklers, toy propellant or toy smoke devices, trick noisemakers, and snake or glow worms are permissible when a fire restriction or ban is not in effect.


Lakewood – All fireworks are prohibited except professional displays. This includes items like sparklers, Roman candles and smoke bombs. Fines for illegal fireworks can reach $2,650.


Littleton – All personal fireworks are illegal in Littleton, including sparklers.


Lone Tree – Permissible fireworks include fountains, wheels, spinners, illuminating torches, dipped sticks, sparklers, snakes and glow worms.


Northglenn – The possession, manufacture, storage, sale, handling and use of fireworks are prohibited in Northglenn.


Thornton – Fireworks cannot be possessed, made, sold, handled or used. This includes any firework that has to be lit.


Westminster – Fireworks that explode, emit a loud bang, leave the ground due to an explosive charge or fly through the air self-propelled are illegal for handling, possession, sale, storage, and/or use within the City of Westminster.


Wheat Ridge – All fireworks, including fountains and sparklers, are illegal in Wheat Ridge.



(Photo by Andreas Rentz/Getty Images for Artist for Peace and Justice)...

Jenny D

The best foods to bring to every Summer outing

Always wonder what you should bring? Well here is a popular list thanks to Eater.

2 days ago

Courtesy of Denver Zoo...

Jenny D

How the Denver Zoo keeps the animals cool during this heatwave

Denver Zoo keeps animals cool with bloodsicles!

3 days ago

John Heffron...

Sarah Baines

John Heffron | Jenny’s Real Funny Friends

Who else knows this much about birds? Check out John Heffron at his Thursday, Friday and Saturday shows, July 11 through 13, at Comedy Works.

3 days ago

(Photo by Bruno Vincent/Getty Images)...

Jenny D

MONOPOLY LIFESIZED Launching U.S. Tour in Colorado this October 2024

MONOPOLY LIFESIZED: Travel Edition is a 60-minute family-friendly experience based on the classic game.

3 days ago


Jenny D

The average American says THIS phrase out loud three times a day? #TTT

(Listen weekdays 7:25 AM with @Jennydontheair)

3 days ago

What kind of fireworks can you legally use in your city?